a problem of ASEM51

Discussion on both general simulation and Proteus VSM microcontroller simulation.
Post Reply
James
Labcenter Distributor
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat 2006-03-11 11:50
Location: Windway (China)

a problem of ASEM51

Post by James »

HELLO everyone:
Recently i am obsession about ASEM51,I write some source code ,and i compiled it in keil uv2 with no error,the output format is .hex.
and i want some debugging informaiton,so add a new source using tool of ASEM51,but when i compile it ,it always appear some errors.
why,the same codes,in keil and asem51 had different results.
the attachment is my circuit 、source codes and some screenshots.
Attachments
led.rar
(25.35 KiB) Downloaded 60 times
Ettore
Labcenter Staff
Posts: 2932
Joined: Fri 2006-03-03 11:56
Location: Milan
Contact:

Post by Ettore »

James,

Because ASEM51 and Keil are diffent assembler programs :)

Of course, operating codes are all supported from either ASEM51 and Keil, - they are actually 8051 assemblers after all ! - but there may have differences in how the directives are dealt or arguments are computed.

For example, ASEM51 refuses to compute arguments in TLO,#(65536-5000)MOD 256 or THO,#(65536-5000)/256. You need to replace those computed arguments with their numerical values. Attached is a modified LED.asm that compiles with no errors and generates .SDI file.

Another difference is that filenames recognized from ASEM51 must follow DOS rules, 8 plus 3 extension characters; no spaces are supported.

Just for the record: we didn't write ASEM51. It is a third-party, free program that we have included just to test assembly code for 8051 cpus. As a result, we are not responsible for possible bugs of ASEM51.
Attachments
LED.zip
(545 Bytes) Downloaded 60 times
Kind regards,
Ettore Arena - Labcenter Electronics.
kent
Unlicenced User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu 2006-10-26 13:09

What does"TLO,#(65536-5000)MOD 256 or THO,#(65536-5000)

Post by kent »

What does "TLO,#(65536-5000)MOD 256 or THO,#(65536-5000)/256 mean?
kmac333333
Professional User
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri 2010-07-09 3:03

Re: a problem of ASEM51

Post by kmac333333 »

How was the SDI file generated? I didnt see any source code specific command to do such. If it is an assembly command line switch it is well hidden in the ASEM-51 documentation.

Please illuminate us with your assembly options as your product doesn't seem to disassemble object/hex files on its own but needs the assistance of an SDI file to get assembly language source code debugging as one would naturally expect from a professional tool.

thx
Post Reply