Pic18F27Q10 no eeprom

Discussion on both general simulation and Proteus VSM microcontroller simulation.
Post Reply
TimBox100
Professional User
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed 2019-03-13 13:26

Pic18F27Q10 no eeprom

Post by TimBox100 »

Hello

This is in my ASM

; EEPROM DATA
org 0X310000
db 0,0,0,0
db 127,0,0,0
db 135,72,0,0
db 0,0,0,0
db 0,127,0,0
db 0,0,0,0
db 0,127,0,0
db 0

This is what the VSM says Note I has not got the device type right
Eeprom.png
Eeprom.png (26.91 KiB) Viewed 966 times
Ettore
Labcenter Staff
Posts: 2932
Joined: Fri 2006-03-03 11:56
Location: Milan
Contact:

Re: Pic18F27Q10 no eeprom

Post by Ettore »

The Data Flash Memory also known as EEPROM uses five SFRs to read and write data.
Immagine 2023-04-13 224352.jpg
Immagine 2023-04-13 224352.jpg (120.18 KiB) Viewed 955 times
The title of Memory EEPROM popup window has been fixed.
Kind regards,
Ettore Arena - Labcenter Electronics.
TimBox100
Professional User
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed 2019-03-13 13:26

Re: Pic18F27Q10 no eeprom

Post by TimBox100 »

The issue would not be how its named if it worked as it should

My compiler does know how to access NVR (below)

I have tested simple examples in real life and in the VSM. Real life it works the VSM it does not

As I said in another post I spend way to much time trying to find out if my code issues are "REAL" or the VSM not working. In reality the VSM is very flaky. Another example if I search for a variable the sync with the code / cursor goes out and I can no longer see what is happening. But I can live with it, I just learnt to never search for a var.

I knew the issues with old Pic devices but they were few and I knew I could trust the VSM and it was a fantastic help. The 18f27q10 issues has set me back well over a month.

Code: Select all

__eeread_
    movwf NVMADR,0
__eeread_w_
    movlw 49
    movwf NVMADRU,0
    clrf NVMCON1,0
    bsf NVMCON1,PP_RD
    nop
    nop
    movf NVMDAT,W
    infsnz NVMADR,F
    incf NVMADRH,F
    bcf NVMCON1,PP_RD
    clrf NVMADRU,0
    return 
Ettore
Labcenter Staff
Posts: 2932
Joined: Fri 2006-03-03 11:56
Location: Milan
Contact:

Re: Pic18F27Q10 no eeprom

Post by Ettore »

So, what you were about with these lines ?
TimBox100 wrote: Thu 2023-04-13 17:42 This is in my ASM

; EEPROM DATA
org 0X310000
db 0,0,0,0
db 127,0,0,0
db 135,72,0,0
db 0,0,0,0
db 0,127,0,0
db 0,0,0,0
db 0,127,0,0
db 0
Also, I too have tests that work in real life. Here is attached one of them.
PIC18F27Q10.pdsprj
(29.36 KiB) Downloaded 622 times
I don't exclude that Proton may use techniques not yet supported in the model or not yet working correctly, but we have used the Microchip XC8 compiler and tested and validated the model with that compiler. If you really want we fix those bugs then you should post or mail them to us; the rest is of little use.

VSM simulator is a piece of software and the 18f27q10 is a relatively new product: bugs are unavoidable!
Kind regards,
Ettore Arena - Labcenter Electronics.
TimBox100
Professional User
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed 2019-03-13 13:26

Re: Pic18F27Q10 no eeprom

Post by TimBox100 »

The reason for the asm was to show it preloaded into EEprom/NVR

All your example is showing is that once working that you can write to NVR not that it can preload it

Yes I understand it a new model and bugs are expected. It takes a lot of time to check everything before reporting when I should be developing so somethings I get wound up. I apologies for that.


; EEPROM DATA
org 0X310000
db 0,0,0,0
db 127,0,0,0
db 135,72,0,0
db 0,0,0,0
db 0,127,0,0
db 0,0,0,0
db 0,127,0,0
db 0
Ettore
Labcenter Staff
Posts: 2932
Joined: Fri 2006-03-03 11:56
Location: Milan
Contact:

Re: Pic18F27Q10 no eeprom

Post by Ettore »

This has been fixed as well. Fix scheduled to be in the next service pack or release.
Kind regards,
Ettore Arena - Labcenter Electronics.
Post Reply